Urhobo Historical Society
TAIWO AYEDUN'S REJOINDER TO COLLINS BABALOLA AFFIRMS THE URGENT NEED TO TAKE SOME POSITIVE STEPS IN NIGER DELTA
November 24, 1999


Source:
Subject: [edo-community] Re: [naijanews] WHAT THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF NIGERIA IS DOING IN THE NIGER DELTA ISWRONG
Date: Wed, 24 Nov 1999 11:06:17 -0600
From: "Taiwo Ayedun" <taiwo@mediaone.net>
To: "Collins Babalola" <babalola@sprint.ca>, <nosae@mindspring.com>,
"Peter P. Ekeh" <ppekeh@acsu.buffalo.edu>,
"President Obasanjo" <president.obasanjo@nigeriagov.org>,
"naijanews" <naijanews@egroups.com>
CC: <edo-community@egroups.com>, "Igho Natufe" <inatufe@nrcan.gc.ca>,
"Pat Williams" <williams@YorkU.CA>


Collins,

I believe we should take the path of reconciliation of deep-rooted conflicts, a path which will lead to personal well-being of the people of Niger Delta and Nigeria as a whole. We should be promoting Healing and Wellness strategies, healthy lifestyles and reduce street violence through community based programming , healing and intervention initiatives.

Your suggestion above is perhaps inevitable but it won't happen overnight. Meanwhile, there are people whose means of livelihood have been jeopardized and destroyed. How will they survive while we go through this reconciliation? A short-term solution should be meaningful and quantifiable. We should be able to observe its positive impact on the people in the region. Funds should be disbursed NOW to clean up the devastated environment in the Niger Delta region. The government should help augment the livelihood of the most needy people in the short-term. Then, maybe they would be in a state to talk about reconciliation...

Regards,

- Taiwo


 RETURN TO CONTENTS | RETURN TO DEFENDERS OF OBASANJO'S INVASION OF BAYELSA