Urhobo Historical Society
 COLLINS BABALOLA, LIVING IN CANADA, DISAGREES WITH EKEH'S REASONING AND STRONGLY SUPPORTS OBASANJO'S INVASION
November 24, 1999


Subject:
Subject: [edo-community] Re: [naijanews] WHAT THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF NIGERIA IS DOING IN THE NIGER DELTA IS WRONG
Date: Wed, 24 Nov 1999 17:18:02 -0500
From: "Collins Babalola" <babalola@sprint.ca>
To: <nosae@mindspring.com>, "Taiwo Ayedun" <taiwo@mediaone.net>,
"Peter P. Ekeh" <ppekeh@acsu.buffalo.edu>,
"President Obasanjo" <president.obasanjo@nigeriagov.org>,
"naijanews" <naijanews@egroups.com>
CC: <edo-community@egroups.com>, "Igho Natufe" <inatufe@nrcan.gc.ca>,
"Pat Williams" <williams@YorkU.CA>


Dear Nosa, Prof Ekeh, Mr.Ayedun and All:

I agree 100% with Nosa's viewpoint and with due respect to Prof. Peter Ekeh who has painstakingly taken his very valuable time to write an open letter to President Obasanjo. It will be an overstatement to say that the Niger Delta situation is most deplorable but one may ask ' what is the short and long time solution' ?. There is no doubt that It has become very pertinent to arrest the present state of unrest and lack respect for law and order.

Instead of an open letter of this nature to the president, I would love to see more concrete suggestions from Nigerians at home and abroad on the most strategic and non-violent way of solving these enormous problems of many years.

I believe we should take the path of reconciliation of deep-rooted conflicts, a path which will lead to personal well-being of the people of Niger Delta and Nigeria as a whole. We should be promoting Healing and Wellness strategies, healthy lifestyles and reduce street violence through community based programming , healing and intervention initiatives.

We should not forget that conflict is a part of daily life in any planetary community . Conflicts which are not effectively dealt with can rob communities of their properties and loved ones as it has happened in many parts of Nigeria. Youth are killing each others at the instruction of who? For what gains? to whose benefit? The only way to stop the cycles of street violence in the Nigeria, is to have all parties involved to be part of the solution. Let us begin here.

Collins Babalola
Executive Director
Common Cause Africa-Canada
219 Argyle Street, Suite B6
Ottawa Ontario. K2P-2H4
232-9634 ext. 465
babalola@sprint.ca


 RETURN TO CONTENTS | RETURN TO DEFENDERS OF OBASANJO'S INVASION OF BAYELSA