A Photo Gallery of 8th UHS Annual Conference
Held at Effurun and Ovu, Urhoboland, Delta State, Nigeria, 27-29 November, 2009

Photo Gallery Compiled by Peter Ekeh.
Display of Urhobo Aristocracy
at the Thanksgiving Service of Urhobo Historical Society
Held at Ovu, Urhoboland,
November 29, 2009

A remarkable feature of the dress mode of participants at the Thanksgiving Ceremonies that were held at Ovu was that they featured aristocratic distinctions. At the top of distinction were the Kings who wear special forms of coral beads, usually in multiple numbers, both around their necks and their wrists. In addition, the Kings wear beaded crowns that are reddish in colour. These head gears sometimes stretch down to cover the ears and other times the cheeks of the kings. There are heavily-gilded rings worn by the Kings.

Lower down the ladder of distinction are the high Chiefs (usually titled as "Olorogun," or "Okakuro"). Their most distinctive emblem is a rounded form of ruby-red beaded neck-wear called aghigho. Aghigho can only be worn by titled Chiefs. These Chiefs have no distinctive head wear beyond what other distinguished men and women can afford. Nowadays, both men and women bear titles and can wear aghighoAghigho is a fine-grained ruby-red coral bead that is exclusive to these titled men and women.

Other men and women, who are not titled chiefs, can wear other forms of coral beads. These are usually pink in colour. Their form does not permit a roundish formation. They dangle down to the navel.  But these ordinary men and women can wear clothes that are as expensive as the high Chiefs. Hats are worn by men while women wear complicated head-gears which they gingerly fold into acceptable forms.



Photo Gallery Home Page

Opening Ceremony

Academic Sessions

UHS Ovu Cultural Day

Memorial Wreath-Laying

Memorial Wreaths: Okoro

Memorial Wreaths: Okpodu

Memorial Wreaths: Salubi

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Mowoe

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Okumagba


UHS Thanksgiving Service

 Awards Ceremony       

  Awards Ceremony: Chief  Johnson Ukueku

Awards Ceremony: Chief E. K. Clark

Awards Ceremony: Onigu Otite

Awards Ceremony: Sam Erivwo

Awards Ceremony: Oghenekaro

Awards Ceremony: Felix Ibru


Awards Ceremony: Moses Taiga


Awards Ceremony: Ighomrore

Awards Ceremony: Gordon Mukoro

Awards Ceremony: J. Barovbe


Awards Ceremony: S. S. Obruche


Awards Ceremony: Oskar Ibru


Awards Ceremony: V. O. Akpobome


Awards Ceremony: C. Bakpa


Awards Ceremony: Helen Ekeh


Awards Ceremony: O. Oyiborhoro

Awards Ceremony: V. Obruche

Awards Ceremony: M. Barovbe

UPU President-General at Ovu

Urhobo Aristocracy at  the Conference

 Venerable Participants

Personalities at the Conference





Three Kings at Ovu display traditional Urhobo regal wear. The crowns are beaded with high-valued  coral beads.


Orodje r' Okpe (left) and Ovie r' Agbon preside over the two largest cultural units in Urhoboland. Their kingdoms are also the most populous in Urhoboland.

The King of Olomu presides over one of the most ancient cultures in Urhoboland and Western Niger Delta. Many Urhobo subcultures trace their origins to Olomu. The King therefore takes his responsibility in the preservation of Urhobo traditions very seriously.

His Majesty Okpara I, Ovie (King) r' Agbon (left) and Olorogun Felix Ibru


Mr. Goodie Ibru, Chairman of Ikeja-Lagos Sheraton Hotels (left) and Chief E. K. Clark (a High Chief).


Olorogun Felix Ibru (titled from Olomu) and Maj.-Gen. David Ejoor (titled from Agbon). Note their similary aghigho wear. While Olorogun Ibru wears one, Chief Ejoor wears two. Such variations are supervised and are strictly enforced.


Kings and aristocrats at Christian Church service. While Olorogun Felix Ibru and Chief David Ejoor removed their hats at Church service, the Kings retained their crowns throughout the Thanksgiving Service.


(Starting from the right) Olorogun Felix Ibru (High Chief with aghigho), Mr. Goodie Ibru, Mrs. Emuobo Ibru, Chief Johnson Barovbe (with aghigho) and a chiefly couple to the right of Barovbe both of whom wear aghigho.


(From left) Chief  Johnson Barovbe (with aghigho) , Chief Simeon Ohwofa (with aghigho), and a friend without aghigho and therefore not a chief.


A Group of Distinguished Urhobo Leaders

From left to right: Chief Johnson Barovbe (with aghigho and a walking stick); Olorogun Felix Ibru (with aghigho); Professor Peter Ekeh (wearing coral beads but not aghigho, because he is not a chief); Olorogun Moses Taiga (wearing aghigho and other aristocratic insignia); and Chief Simeon Ohwofa (wearing aghigho).