A Photo Gallery of 8th UHS Annual Conference
Held at Effurun and Ovu, Urhoboland, Delta State, Nigeria, 27-29 November, 2009

Photo Gallery Compiled by Peter Ekeh.
Memorial Wreath-Laying at the Grave Sites of Past Presidents of Urhobo Progress Union:
Chief Omorohwovo Okoro, Chief John Okpodu, and Chief T. E. A. Salubi
At the Grave Sites of Two Women from Ovu Who Were Wives of Two Past Presidents:
Mrs. Grace Mowoe and Mrs Okumagba

November 29, 2009
Ovu, Urhoboland, Nigeria
Annual Conferences of Urhobo Historical Society usually conclude with Thanksgiving ceremonies in an Urhobo town. The 2009 celebrations were remarkable for combining these UHS events with the memorialization of Ovu Town that has produced the highest number of Presidents of Urhobo Progress Union. In accepting the invitation of Urhobo Historical Society to be Chief Guest at its Thanksgiving ceremonies at Ovu, the current President-General, Olorogun Felix Ibru, decided to honour his predecessors in office by laying wreaths at their grave sites. The Ovu Community prevailed on him to include in this unique honour the two women buried at Ovu who were wives of past Presidents of the Union.

The President-General began his visit to Ovu with this solemn assigment.


Photo Gallery Home Page

Opening Ceremony

Academic Sessions

UHS Ovu Cultural Day

Memorial Wreath-Laying

Memorial Wreaths: Okoro

Memorial Wreaths: Okpodu

Memorial Wreaths: Salubi

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Mowoe

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Okumagba

UHS Thanksgiving Service

 Awards Ceremony


Awards Ceremony: Chief  Johnson Ukueku

 Awards Ceremony: Chief E. K. Clark

  Awards Ceremony: Onigu Otite

Awards Ceremony: Sam Erivwo

Awards Ceremony: Oghenekaro

Awards Ceremony: Felix Ibru

Awards Ceremony: Moses Taiga

Awards Ceremony: Ighomrore

Awards Ceremony: Gordon Mukoro

Awards Ceremony: J. Barovbe

Awards Ceremony: S. S. Obruche

Awards Ceremony: Oskar Ibru

Awards Ceremony: V. O. Akpobome

Awards Ceremony: C. Bakpa

Awards Ceremony: Helen Ekeh

Awards Ceremony: O. Oyiborhoro

Awards Ceremony: V. Obruche

Awards Ceremony: M. Barovbe

UPU President-General at Ovu

Urhobo Aristocracy at  the Conference

Venerable Participants

Personalities at the Conference


Ramsey Mowoe, Ph.D., retired Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Abuja, welcomes Olorogun Felix Ibru, President General of UPU, and his entourage  to the home where his mother is buried at Ovu. Here he shakes hands with Chief Johnson Barovbe.


Chief Dr. Thomas Akpomudiare Salubi (right) welcomes Olorogun Felix Ibru and his younger brother, Mr. Goodie Ibru, Chairman of Sheraton Hotels, Ikeja-Lagos, to the burial site of Chief T. E. A. Salubi.


Dr. (Mrs.) Helen Ekeh leads Olorogun Felix Ibru and other dignitaries to the grave site of founding President of Urhobo Progress Union, Chief Omorohwovo Okoro. He was the uncle of Dr.(Mrs.) Helen Ekeh's mother (nee Maria Okoro).


Madam Clara Okpodu (left) receives Olorogun Felix Ibru to her father's (Chief John Okpodu's) compound where he is buried. Chief (Mrs.) Benedicta Nwariaku (nee Salubi), Clara's friend, is at Olorogun Ibru's left.


 Professor John Enaohwo (second from left), Olorogun Felix Ibru, and Chief Young Obenobe, a UPU Officer, approach Mrs Okumagba's grave site.