A Photo Gallery of 8th UHS Annual Conference
Held at Effurun and Ovu, Urhoboland, Delta State, Nigeria, 27-29 November, 2009

Photo Gallery Compiled by Peter Ekeh.
Memorial Wreath-Laying at the Grave Site of
Founding President of Urhobo Progress Union:
Chief Omorohwovo Okoro

November 29, 2009
Ovu, Urhoboland, Nigeria



Photo Gallery Home Page

Opening Ceremony

Academic Sessions

UHS Ovu Cultural Day

Memorial Wreath-Laying

Memorial Wreaths: Okoro

Memorial Wreaths: Okpodu

Memorial Wreaths: Salubi

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Mowoe

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Okumagba


UHS Thanksgiving Service

 Awards Ceremony

Awards Ceremony: Chief  Johnson Ukueku

Awards Ceremony: Chief E. K. Clark

Awards Ceremony: Onigu Otite

Awards Ceremony: Sam Erivwo

Awards Ceremony: Oghenekaro


Awards Ceremony: Felix Ibru


Awards Ceremony: Moses Taiga


Awards Ceremony: Ighomrore

Awards Ceremony: Gordon Mukoro

Awards Ceremony: J. Barovbe


Awards Ceremony: S. S. Obruche


Awards Ceremony: Oskar Ibru


Awards Ceremony: V. O. Akpobome


Awards Ceremony: C. Bakpa


Awards Ceremony: Helen Ekeh


Awards Ceremony: O. Oyiborhoro

Awards Ceremony: V. Obruche


Awards Ceremony: M. Barovbe


UPU President-General at Ovu


Urhobo Aristocracy at  the Conference


Venerable Participants


Personalities at the Cobference




Olorogun Felix Ibru awaits wreaths being handled by Chief Simeon Ohwofa (right) and Chief Young Obenobe. Dr. Aruegodore Oyiborhoro (next to Chief Obenobe) and Chief Johnson Barovbe observe the proceedings.


Four chieftains reflect on the enormity of Okoro's life. From left are Professor John Enaohwo, Vice-Chancellor, Delta State University, Abraka, and President of Ovu Union; Olorogun Felix Ibru, first Governor of Delta State and current President-General of Urhobo Progress Union; Chief Young Obenobe, Spokesman for Urhobo Progress Union; and Chief Johnson Barovbe, Proprietor, Westminster College, Ikeja-Lagos, and a prominent Ovu businessman.


A group forms to reflect on the meaning of the solemn ocassion.


 Amoment of silence and reflection on the enormity of Chief Omorohwovo Okoro's pioneering greatness.


Olorogun Felix Ibru said words of praise about the  patriotism of Chief Omorohwovo Okoro and his wisdom in founding Urhobo Brotherly Society and Urhobo Progress Union in the 1930s. Those assembled cheer his speech. Shown in this photograph (from the left) are Chief Johnson Barovbe; Dr. Aruegodore Oyiborhoro;   Dr. Ramsey Mowoe, retired Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, Abuja; Mrs. Emuobo Ibru of Ikeja-Lagos Sheraton; and Mr. Goodie Ibru, Chairman of Ikeja-Lagos Sheraton.