A Photo Gallery of 8th UHS Annual Conference
Held at Effurun and Ovu, Urhoboland, Delta State, Nigeria, 27-29 November, 2009

Photo Gallery Compiled by Peter Ekeh.
Memorial Wreath-Laying at the Grave Site of
Chief John Okpodu
Third Pesident-General of Urhobo Progress Union.

November 29, 2009
Ovu, Urhoboland, Nigeria



Photo Gallery Home Page

Opening Ceremony

Academic Sessions

Ovu Cultural Day

Memorial Wreath-Laying

Memorial Wreaths: Okoro

Memorial Wreaths: Okpodu

Memorial Wreaths: Salubi

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Mowoe

Memorial Wreaths: Mrs. Okumagba

UHS Thanksgiving Service

Awards Ceremony

Awards Ceremony: Chief  Johnson Ukueku

Awards Ceremony: Chief E. K. Clark

Awards Ceremony: Onigu Otite

Awards Ceremony: Sam Erivwo


Awards Ceremony: Oghenekaro


Awards Ceremony: Felix Ibru


Awards Ceremony: Moses Taiga


Awards Ceremony: Ighomrore

Awards Ceremony: Gordon Mukoro


Awards Ceremony: J. Barovbe

Awards Ceremony: S. S. Obruche


Awards Ceremony: Oskar Ibru


Awards Ceremony: V. O. Akpobome


Awards Ceremony: C. Bakpa


Awards Ceremony: Helen Ekeh


Awards Ceremony: O. Oyiborhoro


Awards Ceremony: V. Obruche


Awards Ceremony: M. Barovbe


UPU President-General at Ovu


Urhobo Aristocracy at  the Conference


Venerable Participants


Personalities at the Cobference



Preparation for the wreath-laying. Holding a fan is Chief Mrs. Benedicta Nwariaku. To her left are Chief Johnson Barovbe, Professor John Enaohwo, and Chief Young Obenobe.


Olorogun Felix Ibru, President-General of Urhobo Progress Union, lays wreaths at Chief John Okpodu's grave site. Observing was Okpodu's eldest daughter at Chief Ibru's left. Standing next to her at her left are Chief Young Obenobe and Dr. (Mrs.) Helen Ekeh. Observing at Ibru's right were Chief (Mrs.) Benedicta Nwariaku (nee Salubi), Professor John Enaohwo and Chief Johnson Barovbe.


 Olorogun Felix Ibru and others reflect on the geatness of Chief Okpodu's achievements.


A moment of silence and prayers for Chief Okpodu. His daughter bows in adoration.