NOVEMBER 01 - 03, 2002

  New Cross, London
New Cross, London

Official Logo of Urhobo Historical Society
Official Logo of Urhobo Historical Society


NOVEMBER 01 - 03, 2002

Conference Committee, North America Organizing Committee, United Kingdom & Belgium

Isaac James Mowoe, Ph.D., J.D.,

Onoawarie Edevbie, M.A., M.Sc.

Edirin Erhiaghanoma, M.Sc.

Aruegodore Oyiborhoro, Ed.D., F.A.A.A.


S. S. Obruche

W. Ometan, B.A. (Hons), Dipl. (IT)

H. Erhiaganoma, B.Sc. (Hons), M.Sc

F. Omohwo, M. B.B.S., F.R.C.S.
Publicity Secretary

G. Oghenede, A.C.A., F.C.C.A.
Hospitality Officer

F. Emessiri-Akusu (Belgium)

H. Ogboru

A. Natufe, B.Sc. (Hons), M.Sc.

Ejiro Ughwujabo, B.Ed. (Hons), M.A.



Friday, November 1, 2002
Goddis Place

5:00 -- 6:00 p.m.
Special Meeting of Members of UHS Editorial & Management Committee (EMC) and Organizing Committee, UK

6:00  – 8:00 p.m.:
Dinner Meeting: EMC Members, Members of organizing Committee, UK, and Specially Invited Guests

8:00 -- 10:30 p.m.:

Cocktail Reception. (Cash Bar available for interested members and guests). Chair: Olorogun Felix Ibru, First Civilian Governor of Delta State, Nigeria. Special Guest of Honour, Mr. Daniel A. Obiomah, Warri, Delta State, Nigeria, and Chair of Urhobo Historical Society, Professor Peter Ekeh,  will address the audience.
* * *

Saturday, November 2, 2002
Goldsmiths College of London University:

 9:00 a.m. -- 11:00 a.m.
First Plenary Session

Michael Y. Nabofa, Ph.D. Professor of Religious Studies, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
"The Role of the Institution of Ophor among the Urhobo and Their Isoko and Ijaw Neighbours."
Perkins Foss, Ph.D. Guest Curator, Museum for African Art, New York City, USA.
"Images of Fear, Protection, Beauty: Urhobo Art and Culture."
Chair: Ajovi Scott-Emuakpor, MD, Professor of Paediatrics and Human Development, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, USA
 11:15 a.m. – 12:30  p.m.
Second Plenary Session:
 F. M. A. Ukoli, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology, University of Ibadan; Founding Vice-Chancellor, Delta State University, Abraka, Nigeria.
"Beyond Social and Political Issues in Urhoboland"
Chair: Jackson Omene, MD, Adjunct Professor of Paediatrics, Columbia University, New York, USA
 12:30 --1:30 p.m.
Lunch Break

 1:30-3:00 p.m.
Keynote Address:

David Okpako, Ph.D., Professor of Pharmacology, University of Ibadan, Nigeria.
"The Place of Urhobo College in Urhobo History."
Chair: Mr. D. A. Obiomah, Special Guest of Honour, Third Annual Conference of Urhobo Historical Society
3:00 -- 3:15 p.m.

 3:15 .-5:00 p.m.
Third Plenary Session

Emmanuel Urhobo, Ph.D., Barrister-at-Law, Warri, Nigeria
“Title to Land in Warri –The Itsekiri and Agbassa Claims.”
Wilson Ometan, B.A. (Hons.), BBC, London, United Kingdom
"Urhobos and Nigerian Politics: The Travails of Marginalization and Racism."
Chair: Professor Olorogun Frank Ukoli, Warri, Delta State, Nigeria
7:00 PM – 11:00 p.m.
Goddis Place
Cocktail Reception & Dinner Party

* * *

Sunday, November 3, 2002
Goldsmiths College of London University

 9:00 .-10:45 a.m.
Fourth Plenary Session

Michael Y. Nabofa, Ph.D. Professor of Religious Studies, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
"The Role of Women in Igbe and God’s Kingdom Society: A Comparative History."
Chair: Ejiro Ughwujabo, B.Ed. (Hons), M.A., Senior Deputy Head Teacher, Saint Mary's Catholic High School, Woburn Road, Croydon CR0 2AB, England
10:45 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Roundtable Discussion
Role of Women in Urhobo History and Culture
Chair: Mrs. Obiomah, Warri, Delta State, Nigeria
Helen Ekeh, Ph.D., Buffalo, New York, USA
Madam Alice Uwhobe, London, United Kingdom
Madam Rose Itsekiri, London, United Kingdom
Chief (Mrs.) Agnes Ukueku, London, United Kingdom
Amy Emerhi, Ph.D., Port Harcourt, River State, Nigeria
Mrs. G. Emonigho Aghoghovbia, London, United Kingdom
Mrs. Comfort Ogbomo, London, United Kingdom
 1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
 Goddis Place
Annual General Meeting

 About Urhobo Historical Society

Established in August 1999, Urhobo Historical Society provides a forum for the propagation and publication of works in Urhobo history and culture. URHOBO WAADO, Web site of Urhobo Historical Society, also highlights issues of oil pollution and environmental degradation in Nigeria's Niger Delta. Besides its defence of Urhobo interests in the political sphere, Urhobo Historical Society has provided a valuable documentation of Urhobo history and culture hitherto unknown in cyberspace. Along with a smaller Web site, our main web site of has emerged as an important reference point for Urhobo history and culture. Through its web sites, Urhobo Historical Society has also become a powerful voice in defence of Niger Delta interests. We thank all those who have contributed towards such achievements.

The first two Annual Conferences of Urhobo Historical Society were held in North America. We held our First Annual  Conference and Meeting in Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada, on November 3-5 2000 . Senator David O. Dafinone was its Keynote Speaker. Our Second Annual Conference and Meeting took place in Persipanny, New Jersey, USA, on November 2-4, 2001.

In bringing the Third Annual Conference to London and Europe, we seek to broaden participation in the affairs of Urhobo Historical Society. We particularly want to reach out to Urhobo women and youth. We look forward to a successful Annual Conference in London in November, 2002.


There will be opportunity, for those who so desire, to become members of Urhobo Historical Society during the forthcoming Conference and Meeting. Membership Recruitment Tables will be set up at the venues of the Conference at Goddis and in the foyer of Ian Gulland Lecture Theatre, Goldsmiths College. Annual fee for regular membership is £30.00 or $50.00. Annual fee for charter membership is £150.00 or higher or $250.00 or higher.


Larry Arhagba, M.A. Onoawarie Edevbie, M.A., M.Sc.
Peter P. Ekeh, Ph.D. Edirin Erhiaganoma, M.Sc
Joseph E. Inikori, Ph.D. Isaac James Mowoe, Ph.D., J.D.
Igho Natufe, Ph.D. Rev. Fr. Jude Obiunu, B.Th. (Urbaniana Univ., Rome), M. A. (Fordham)
Ukonurhoro Diesode Omenih Grace Ophori, M.A. 
Aruegodore Oyiborhoro, Ed.D.  Ajovi Scott-Emuakpor, M.D., Ph.D.


Peter Ekeh, Chair and Editor  Igho Natufe, Deputy Chair
Onoawarie Edevbie, Secretary  Edirin Erhiaganoma, Treasurer